< Back

The Spine

The spine is an arrangement of irregular bones called vertebrae, which are divided into five sections according to their size.

The five sections are Cervical, Thoracic, Lumber, and the fused sections the Sacrum and Coccyx (see figure down). These regions give the spine its distinctive 'S' shape. This 'S' shape is important as it absorbs shock and impact with the support of intervertebral discs.


There are 33 vertebrae in total,


9 of these are fused (no movement) and


24 are moveable and separated by intervertebral discs.

Cervical spine



Thoracic spine



Lumbar  spine



Sacrum and coccyx

Knowledge is Power